Senate Banking Committee Names New Chairman

January 4, 2017
The American Land Title Association (ALTA) has announced the appointment of Elizabeth Blosser as its new director of grassroots and state government affairs

Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) has been named the new chairman of the U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Committee. He replaces Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL), who is required to step down from the chairmanship due to Senate term limit rules, but who will remain as a committee member.

Three Republican senators are joining the committee as new members: Sens. John Kennedy (R-LA), David Perdue (R-GA) and Thom Tillis (R-NC) will fill GOP vacancies left by Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS), who is moving to another committee, and the departures of retired Sen. David Vitter (R-LA) and former Sen. Mark Kirk (R-IL), who lost his 2016 re-election bid.

Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) will retain his role as Ranking Member on the committee. Three new Democrats are joining the committee: Sens. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Brian Schatz (D-HI) and Chris Van Hollen (D-MD). Sen. Charles Schumer (D-NY) stepped down from the committee to focus on his new role as Senate Minority Leader, while Sen. Jeff Merkley (D-OR) is moving to another committee.