FHA Announces Temporary HECM Waivers – NMP Skip to main content

FHA Announces Temporary HECM Waivers

Steve Goode
Jun 24, 2022
FHA Logo

Waivers provide relief to borrowers affected by pandemic.

The Federal Housing Administration (FHA) on Thursday issued temporary partial waivers to its Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM) policies, also known as reverse mortgages.

The waivers, FHA officials said, will provide mortgagees with expanded flexibility to help senior homeowners with HECMs who continue to experience significant financial hardship due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

One waiver allows lenders to offer repayment plans to HECM borrowers with unpaid property charges or taxes, regardless of their total outstanding payments. The waiver is effective through the end of this year.

The other waiver allows lenders to seek assignment of a HECM immediately after using their own funds to pay unpaid property taxes and insurance on or after March, 1, 2020, by temporarily eliminating the three-year waiting period for such assignments. The waiver is effective through the end of the year.

FHA officials said the waivers offer relief to HECM borrowers who were unable to make timely property charge payments due to financial hardship resulting from the pandemic.

Jun 24, 2022
Homeward Lays Off 20% Of Staff

Alternative real estate financing company cut about 120 jobs.

Industry News
Aug 12, 2022
Lone Peak Lending Joins Panorama Mortgage Group

Names Donovan Stamps as president.

Industry News
Aug 11, 2022
Fairway Independent Mortgage Hires Former PrimeLending President

Firm says Scott Bristol is part of aggressive originator expansion.

Aug 11, 2022
Mortgage Rates Jump Back Above 5%

Freddie Mac says rates recent volatility continues.

Industry News
Aug 11, 2022
Redfin: Share Of Relocating Buyers At All-Time High In July

People are looking for less expensive and better lifestyles.

Industry News
Aug 11, 2022
Redfin Expands iBuying Business To Florida

RedfinNow, which makes cash offers for homes, now operates in 34 markets in 16 states and the District of Columbia.

Aug 11, 2022