Early Loan-Limit Race Splits Into Three Tiers – NMP Skip to main content

Early Loan-Limit Race Splits Into Three Tiers

Sep 23, 2026
Early Loan-Limit Race Splits Into Three Tiers

Lenders are now offering $845,000, $847,440, or $850,000 before FHFA sets the official 2027 limits

BankSouth Mortgage, ABS Home Mortgage, and JVM Lending are now offering $850,000 one-unit baseline limits before the Federal Housing Finance Agency establishes its official 2027 figures, expanding what had been a higher threshold occupied by Pennymac in NMP's tracker.

That gives four lenders a $850,000 early limit, compared with 16 parent lenders at $845,000 and two at $847,440.

The numbers remain lender-specific rather than official agency limits. And for originators, the difference between them involves more than a few thousand dollars of additional borrowing capacity. Channel access, geography, property type, closing dates, and investor requirements can determine whether a borrower can actually use the higher amount.

FHFA’s official 2026 baseline remains $832,750. A $850,000 limit provides $17,250, or approximately 2.1%, of additional room before a loan exceeds the current baseline conforming limit.

The latest NMP review found no additional qualifying lender announcement beyond the 22 parent lenders now in the tracker. Several mortgage brokers have begun advertising access to higher limits through their lending partners, but those do not represent separate lender programs and are not included.

BankSouth Changes Its Limit Within Days

BankSouth initially announced a $845,000 one-unit limit on Sept. 17. Four days later, the regional retail lender increased it again to $850,000 and made the revised amount available immediately for qualified buyers seeking conventional single-family financing.

The speed of BankSouth’s revision may be more significant than the lender’s size. Its move from $845,000 to $850,000 within days provides the clearest evidence yet that the early-limit competition is moving beyond simply getting ahead of FHFA. At least one lender has already decided its initial estimate wasn't where it wanted to stay.

More Lenders Reach $850,000

ABS Home Mortgage, which lends in Illinois, Texas, Florida, and Georgia, published a complete lower-48 grid based on a $850,000 one-unit limit:

  • One unit: $850,000
  • Two units: $1,088,350
  • Three units: $1,315,500
  • Four units: $1,634,950

The lender said qualifying loans may close under those figures now. Loans closing after FHFA announces the official limits, however, will use the amounts FHFA establishes.

That distinction matters for originators working with borrowers near the upper end of the early limit. The amount available today is not necessarily the amount that will apply to a loan closing after FHFA publishes its official 2027 figures.

JVM Lending, a division of Vellum Mortgage, has also begun offering conventional financing up to $850,000. JVM disclosed a $1.27 million high-cost limit and said the high-cost limit for a four-unit property approaches $2.5 million, although it did not publish a complete multiunit grid.

$850,000 Still Isn't The Industry Standard

Pennymac remains the most broadly accessible lender in NMP's $850,000 group because it offers the higher limit through Consumer Direct Lending, third-party origination, and correspondent channels.

Its lower-48 grid matches the amounts published by ABS Home Mortgage. Pennymac also established limits for Alaska and Hawaii beginning at $1.275 million for a one-unit property.

For correspondent sellers, however, the higher limit comes with operational conditions. Pennymac has said files may require a full appraisal, a later rerun through an automated underwriting system, and confirmation from mortgage-insurance and warehouse providers. Under specified circumstances, a loan that does not subsequently receive an eligible finding after the official limits are released could create repurchase exposure.

The other $850,000 participants are smaller retail or regional operations. Their addition does not make $850,000 the industry's dominant early limit: $845,000 remains far more widely adopted among the lenders NMP has verified.

But the market now has three distinct tiers — $845,000, $847,440 and $850,000 — and the highest of those figures is no longer represented by a single lender.

For originators, that makes comparing the programs increasingly important. The difference between $845,000 and $850,000 is only $5,000, while UWM's $847,440 sits just $2,560 below the highest tier. Whether that additional capacity is useful for a particular borrower depends on much more than the number itself, including lender channel, geography, property type, and the conditions attached to using an early limit.

2027 Early Conforming Loan Limit Tracker

Last updated Sept. 25, 2026.

FHFA has not established the official 2027 conforming loan limits. The amounts below are lender-specific early limits and may carry separate product, pricing, eligibility, closing-date, and delivery requirements.

Lender

Announcement Date

One-Unit Baseline Limit

Availability

Rocket Mortgage/Rocket Pro

Sept. 10, 2026

$845,000

Rocket retail and Rocket Pro broker channels. Lower-48 limits are $1,081,950 for two units, $1,307,800 for three units, and $1,625,350 for four units. Alaska and Hawaii limits begin at $1,267,500.

CrossCountry Mortgage

Sept. 10, 2026

$845,000

Available through CrossCountry Mortgage’s Early Bird Program, subject to program and underwriting requirements.

NOVA Home Loans

Sept. 10, 2026

$845,000

Available through NOVA loan originators. Product, underwriting, and geographic requirements may vary.

Waterstone Mortgage Corp.

Sept. 10, 2026

$845,000

Waterstone retail channel; applies to qualifying loans funded on or after Sept. 10.

Fairway Independent Mortgage Corp.

Sept. 14, 2026

$845,000

Fairway distributed-retail channel; effective Sept. 14 and subject to lender and program guidelines.

OCMBC: LoanStream Mortgage, GIANT Lending, RISE TPO and LendingPros

Sept. 14, 2026

$845,000

Wholesale availability through multiple OCMBC divisions. Product availability and restrictions vary by division.

Supreme Lending

Sept. 14, 2026

$845,000

Available for eligible new applications taken on or after Sept. 14, subject to product and underwriting requirements.

CMG Home Loans

Sept. 14, 2026

$845,000

Effective Sept. 21, subject to CMG product, pricing, and underwriting requirements.

American Pacific Mortgage

Sept. 15, 2026

$845,000

Distributed-retail channel through local originators. APM disclosed a $1,267,500 high-cost limit.

EMM Loans

Sept. 15, 2026

$845,000

Available for eligible new loans beginning Sept. 14. Public materials did not specify retail-versus-wholesale availability.

Newrez

Sept. 15, 2026

$845,000

Newrez correspondent channel; all commitment types on new locks dated Sept. 15 or later. AUS rerun, appraisal, and potential repurchase requirements apply.

Southern Trust Mortgage

Approx. Sept. 15, 2026

$845,000

Distributed-retail channel for qualifying conventional purchase and refinance loans. Early multiunit and high-cost amounts were not disclosed.

Guild Mortgage

Sept. 16, 2026

$845,000

Guild retail channel; available beginning Sept. 17. Detailed eligibility, pricing, and delivery requirements were not publicly disclosed.

Movement Mortgage

Sept. 16, 2026

$845,000

Retail channel for eligible one-unit properties in the continental United States. Property, credit, DTI, LTV, and program restrictions apply.

United Wholesale Mortgage

Sept. 16, 2026

$847,440

Wholesale broker channel for eligible conventional and VA loans. Limits are $1,085,059 for two units, $1,311,535 for three units, and $1,630,005 for four units.

Pennymac

Sept. 16, 2026

$850,000

Consumer Direct Lending, TPO and correspondent channels. Lower-48 limits are $1,088,350 for two units, $1,315,500 for three units, and $1,634,950 for four units. Alaska and Hawaii limits begin at $1,275,000.

Franklin Loan Center

Sept. 18, 2026

$845,000

Retail channel for conventional financing. Multiunit limits and an effective-date cutoff were not disclosed; Franklin said high-cost limits remained to be announced.

JVM Lending/Vellum Mortgage

Sept. 18, 2026

$850,000

JVM consumer channel. A $1.27 million high-cost limit was disclosed, but a complete multiunit grid was not published.

ABS Home Mortgage

Sept. 20, 2026

$850,000

Retail/direct channel in Illinois, Texas, Florida, and Georgia. Lower-48 limits are $1,088,350 for two units, $1,315,500 for three units, and $1,634,950 for four units.

BankSouth Mortgage

Sept. 21, 2026 (revised)

$850,000

Distributed-retail channel; available now for qualified buyers seeking conventional single-family financing. Originally announced at $845,000 on Sept. 17.

Neighborhood Loans

Sept. 21, 2026

$847,440

Distributed-retail channel. Limits are $1,085,059 for two units, $1,311,535 for three units, and $1,630,005 for four units.

Direct Mortgage Loans

Sept. 22, 2026

$845,000

Distributed-retail channel through select investors for qualifying conventional loans locked on or after Sept. 17.

Kind Lending

Sept. 22, 2026

$845,000

Kind TPO; effective for new locks on or after Sept. 23. Lower-48 limits are $1,081,950 for two units, $1,307,800 for three units, and $1,625,350 for four units. Alaska and Hawaii limits begin at $1,267,500. Kind lists a 620 minimum FICO and AUS Approve/Ineligible when loan amount is the only reason for ineligibility; appraisal waivers are not available.

Intercap Lending

Sept. 23, 2026

Pending verification

Intercap announced an Advance Access Program for 2027 conforming loan limits. NMP has verified the early-limit program but has not yet independently verified the one-unit dollar amount.

Certainty Home Lending

Sept. 24, 2026

$845,000

Certainty Home Lending is accepting conforming loan amounts up to $845,000 ahead of FHFA’s official 2027 adjustment.

Current FHFA baseline: $832,750

  • Parent lenders tracked: 25
  • Verified at $845,000: 18
  • Verified at $847,440: 2
  • Verified at $850,000: 4
  • Amount pending verification: 1
  • Increase at $845,000: $12,250, or approximately 1.5%
  • Increase at $847,440: $14,690, or approximately 1.8%
  • Increase at $850,000: $17,250, or approximately 2.1%

NMP counts parent lenders rather than individual brands or divisions when multiple brands operate under the same parent company. Mortgage brokers advertising access to another lender’s early limits are not counted as separate lenders.

 

About the author
Published
Sep 23, 2026
Jobs Report Comes In Weak After Mortgage Rates Surge

Employers added just 29,000 jobs in September, sending Treasury yields lower and offering a potential counterweight to the recent rise in mortgage rates

Oct 02, 2026
Price Cuts Hit Four-Year High As Mortgage Rates Top 7%

More than one in five listings took a price cut in September, but pending sales still posted their sharpest annual decline since March 2025

Oct 01, 2026
Serious Mortgage Delinquencies Rise 19% After Five Months Of Improvement

ICE data shows 574,000 mortgages were at least 90 days past due in August, while early-stage delinquencies remained below year-ago levels

Sep 29, 2026
Smaller Down Payments Give Buyers More Room, But Rates Limit The Savings

The typical down payment fell 9% from a year ago, while shifting market conditions are giving originators different affordability conversations across the country

Sep 25, 2026
Mortgage Rates Break 7% Just As Builders Find A Way To Move Buyers

New-home sales rose 6.4% in August as builders cut prices, offered incentives, and sold more lower-priced homes. Now mortgage rates are moving against buyers again

Sep 25, 2026
Borrowers Want Digital Closings, But Some Originators Remain Hesitant

ServiceLink finds 45% of surveyed LOs cite borrower reluctance as a barrier, even though most recent buyers say digital options would influence their choice of mortgage provider

Sep 23, 2026