UWM Splits The Difference In Early 2027 Loan-Limit Race
Wholesale lender lands between the industry’s $845,000 benchmark and Pennymac’s $850,000 ceiling
United Wholesale Mortgage has established an estimated $847,440 2027 conforming loan limit for one-unit properties, giving mortgage brokers an early limit that lands between the two figures already competing for industry adoption.
The limit became effective Sept. 16 for conventional and Department of Veterans Affairs loans offered through UWM’s wholesale platform, according to the company.
UWM also established conventional limits of $1,085,059 for two-unit properties, $1,311,535 for three-unit properties and $1,630,005 for four-unit properties.
The Federal Housing Finance Agency has not established the official 2027 conforming loan limits. The current one-unit baseline is $832,750, putting UWM’s estimate $14,690, or approximately 1.8%, above the 2026 limit.
UWM’s one-unit limit is also $2,440 above the $845,000 benchmark adopted by most early movers and $2,560 below Pennymac’s $850,000 limit.
UWM Makes Its Own Estimate
The precision of UWM’s figures separates its move from lenders that selected rounded $845,000 or $850,000 thresholds.
UWM has not publicly explained how it calculated the limits. Still, the numbers indicate the wholesale lender made its own projection rather than simply matching an existing industry benchmark.
Brokers now have three early one-unit limits to compare: $845,000 across most participating lenders, $847,440 through UWM and $850,000 through Pennymac’s available channels.
The $5,000 range between the lowest and highest figures will not substantially change the financing options available to most borrowers. UWM’s scale and wholesale reach make its move more consequential, however, because thousands of independent brokers can begin offering an above-benchmark amount without waiting for FHFA’s official announcement.
More Lenders Join At $845,000
Movement Mortgage has separately adopted an $845,000 early limit for qualified conventional borrowers in the continental United States.
Movement’s option is restricted to one-unit single-family homes and planned-unit developments. It excludes condominiums, manufactured homes, multiunit properties, Alaska, and Hawaii. The lender also disclosed a minimum credit score of 660, a maximum debt-to-income ratio of 45%, and occupancy-specific loan-to-value limits.
GIANT Lending has also made the $845,000 limit available through its wholesale channel for submissions dated Sept. 14 or later. GIANT is a division of OCMBC Inc., which also operates LoanStream Mortgage, so its addition represents expanded brand availability rather than another distinct parent lender.
GIANT published a complete one- through four-unit grid but excluded government loans, temporary buydowns, and specified down-payment-assistance programs.
The emerging competition is no longer just about getting ahead of FHFA. Lenders are now making different judgments about the official limit, the channels through which they will offer it and the eligibility restrictions they will impose while carrying the risk themselves.
2027 Early Conforming Loan Limit Tracker
Last updated Sept. 18, 2026.
The Federal Housing Finance Agency has not established the official 2027 conforming loan limits. The amounts below are lender-specific early limits and may carry separate product, pricing, eligibility, closing-date and delivery requirements.
Lender | Announcement Date | One-Unit Baseline Limit | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|
Rocket Mortgage/Rocket Pro | Sept. 10, 2026 | $845,000 | Rocket retail and Rocket Pro broker channels. Lower-48 limits are $1,081,950 for two units, $1,307,800 for three units and $1,625,350 for four units. Alaska and Hawaii limits begin at $1,267,500. |
CrossCountry Mortgage | Sept. 10, 2026 | $845,000 | Available through CrossCountry Mortgage’s Early Bird Program, subject to program and underwriting requirements. |
NOVA Home Loans | Sept. 10, 2026 | $845,000 | Available through NOVA loan originators. Product, underwriting and geographic requirements may vary. |
Waterstone Mortgage Corp. | Sept. 10, 2026 | $845,000 | Waterstone retail channel; applies to qualifying loans funded on or after Sept. 10. |
Fairway Independent Mortgage Corp. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Fairway distributed-retail channel; effective Sept. 14 and subject to lender and program guidelines. |
OCMBC: LoanStream Mortgage, GIANT Lending, RISE TPO and LendingPros | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Wholesale broker availability through multiple OCMBC divisions. Lower-48 limits are $1,081,950 for two units, $1,307,800 for three units and $1,625,350 for four units; Alaska and Hawaii limits begin at $1,267,500. Product availability and restrictions may vary by division. GIANT excludes government loans, temporary buydowns, CalHFA DPA, DPA and DPA Plus loans. |
Supreme Lending | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Available for eligible new loan applications taken on or after Sept. 14, subject to product and underwriting requirements. |
CMG Home Loans | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Effective Sept. 21, subject to CMG product, pricing and underwriting requirements. |
American Pacific Mortgage | Sept. 15, 2026 | $845,000 | Distributed-retail channel through local loan originators. APM disclosed a $1,267,500 limit for high-cost areas. Detailed effective-date and eligibility requirements were not publicly specified. |
EMM Loans | Sept. 15, 2026 | $845,000 | Available for eligible new loans beginning Sept. 14. EMM operates retail and wholesale channels, but its public announcement did not specify channel availability or detailed delivery requirements. |
Newrez | Sept. 15, 2026 | $845,000 | Newrez correspondent channel; available for all commitment types on new locks dated Sept. 15 or later. AUS-rerun, appraisal and potential repurchase requirements apply. |
Guild Mortgage | Sept. 16, 2026 | $845,000 | Guild retail origination channel; available beginning Sept. 17. Detailed eligibility, pricing and delivery requirements were not publicly disclosed. |
Movement Mortgage | Sept. 16, 2026 | $845,000 | Movement’s retail channel for eligible one-unit properties in the continental United States. Property, credit, debt-to-income, loan-to-value and program restrictions may apply. |
United Wholesale Mortgage | Sept. 16, 2026 | $847,440 | UWM wholesale broker channel for eligible conventional and VA loans. Limits are $1,085,059 for two units, $1,311,535 for three units and $1,630,005 for four units, subject to UWM product and underwriting requirements. |
Pennymac | Sept. 16, 2026 | $850,000 | Consumer Direct Lending, Third-Party Origination and Pennymac Correspondent Group; effective immediately. Lower-48 limits are $1,088,350 for two units, $1,315,500 for three units and $1,634,950 for four units. Alaska and Hawaii limits begin at $1,275,000. Correspondent sellers may face appraisal, AUS-rerun, credit-report-age, warehouse-bank, mortgage-insurance and potential repurchase requirements. |
BankSouth Mortgage | Sept. 17, 2026 | $845,000 | BankSouth Mortgage distributed-retail channel; available immediately for single-family home financing. Multiunit and high-cost limits were not disclosed publicly. Additional underwriting, product and geographic requirements may apply. |
Current FHFA baseline: $832,750
- Verified parent lenders: 16
- Lenders offering $845,000: 14
- UWM limit: $847,440
- Pennymac limit: $850,000
- Increase at $845,000: $12,250, or approximately 1.5% above the current FHFA baseline
- Increase at $847,440: $14,690, or approximately 1.8%
- Increase at $850,000: $17,250, or approximately 2.1%