Three Competing 2027 Conforming Loan Limits — And None Is Official
More than 50 lenders are offering $845,000, $847,440, or $850,000 before FHFA acts, but investor execution and lender overlays determine which borrowers can use them
The Federal Housing Finance Agency has not established the 2027 conforming loan limits. That has not stopped more than 50 parent lenders from financing loans under anticipated limits as high as $850,000.
What began in September with Rocket Mortgage raising its one-unit limit to $845,000 has developed into a temporary market operating above the current national baseline. Lenders have settled into three competing tiers: $845,000, $847,440, and $850,000.
The number of participating lenders has more than doubled since NMP’s Sept. 25 tracker update.
But for loan originators, the headline limit now may be the least complicated part of the transaction.
Channel access, investor participation, automated underwriting findings, appraisal requirements, closing dates, and warehouse-bank approval can all determine whether a borrower can actually use the amount a lender is advertising.
These Aren’t Official 2027 Limits
FHFA’s official one-unit baseline remains $832,750 for most of the country. The agency sets the maximum original loan amounts Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac may acquire and adjusts those limits annually using changes in home prices.
Until the new limits become effective for agency delivery, loans above the applicable 2026 limit cannot be sold to Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac under an anticipated 2027 limit. Lenders must hold them, place them with another investor, or otherwise manage the exposure until an eligible execution becomes available.
That leaves lenders to decide how they will fund, hold, or place the loans until the official limit takes effect.
The early programs are not uniform. Some lenders appear to be relying on their own liquidity. Others have established separate products or arranged dedicated investor execution.
When Rocket introduced its $845,000 limit, Kyle Schoenmaker, senior vice president of sales at Rocket Pro, attributed the lender’s ability to move early in part to its liquidity and balance-sheet strength.
GMFS offers one of the clearest examples of another approach. Its recently introduced $845,000 limit is available through a separate investor program in Optimal Blue. Loans locked through the program may close immediately, but they are not serviced by GMFS and cannot later be switched into a standard GMFS product, according to the lender’s program announcement.
TowneBank Mortgage has tied its higher limits to select participating investors. Intercap Lending says availability under its Advanced Access Program may vary by investor.
For originators, those disclosures matter as much as the advertised amount. A lender may publish an $850,000 limit without making it available across every channel, product, or investor.
What Happens If The Estimate Is Wrong?
The central risk is that FHFA could establish a limit below one or more of the amounts lenders are using.
For borrowers whose loans have already closed, a lower FHFA limit would not by itself alter the terms in their signed loan documents. The disposition risk would fall on the lender, aggregator, or investor that accepted the loan.
Pennymac and Newrez have published some of the industry’s most detailed guidance on that possibility.
Both lenders allow correspondent delivery when a loan receives an Approve/Ineligible or Accept/Ineligible finding solely because its amount exceeds the current conforming limit. Those loans require full appraisals.
Once the official limits are reflected in Desktop Underwriter and Loan Product Advisor, correspondent sellers may be required to rerun the loan through the applicable automated underwriting system.
Pennymac says loans that fail to receive an eligible finding after the rerun may be subject to repurchase, but provides an exception when the only cause is a discrepancy between Pennymac’s early limit and the final federal limit. Its guidance also instructs sellers to confirm eligibility with their warehouse banks and mortgage-insurance providers.
Newrez’s correspondent guidance contains similar treatment. A difference between Newrez’s early limit and the final federal amount does not, by itself, trigger repurchase. A loan that is unsaleable for another reason may still have to be repurchased.
Some aggregators are protecting correspondents from the risk that the lender’s estimate proves too high. They are not protecting them from unrelated underwriting, documentation, or eligibility problems.
The treatment of loans that are locked but have not closed when FHFA acts is less clear. Public guidance varies by lender, and some announcements base eligibility on the application, submission, lock, funding, or closing date.
What Originators Need To Check
Before quoting an early conforming limit to a borrower, originators should confirm:
Channel and investor eligibility: Is the higher limit available through their channel and intended investor?
Effective dates: Does eligibility depend on the application, submission, lock, funding, or closing date?
AUS treatment: Will the lender accept Approve/Ineligible or Accept/Ineligible findings when the loan amount is the only issue? Will the file need to be rerun after the GSEs update their systems?
Appraisal requirements: Does the program require a full appraisal even if the loan would otherwise qualify for a waiver?
Mortgage insurance and warehouse funding: Will the mortgage insurer and, for correspondent loans, the warehouse lender accept the higher amount?
Product restrictions: Are certain property types, loan products, or affordable-lending programs excluded?
Final-limit risk: What happens to a locked loan if FHFA announces a lower limit than the lender anticipated?
The restrictions already vary considerably. Bell Bank Mortgage, for example, limits its early program to single-family primary residences in nine states, excludes several affordable, construction, and government products, and requires loans to be locked by Dec. 31. GMFS prohibits manual underwriting, trust closings, and modified construction loans under its separate investor program.
Higher Doesn’t Automatically Mean Cheaper
The three competing limits provide additional borrowing capacity above the current $832,750 baseline:
- $845,000 provides another $12,250.
- $847,440 provides another $14,690.
- $850,000 provides another $17,250.
In areas governed by the national baseline, that additional room can help some borrowers avoid moving into jumbo financing solely because of loan size.
Pricing adjustments, mortgage insurance, appraisal expenses, property restrictions, and a borrower’s financial profile can outweigh the difference between the available limits. A bank jumbo could still produce better terms for some borrowers.
The originator’s job is not simply to find the lender with the highest published ceiling. It is to compare the execution available for the specific borrower and property.
Although lenders are already advertising higher loan amounts for 2027, FHFA has not announced the official conforming loan limits.
FHFA is expected to announce the official 2027 limits in late November, with the new limits taking effect Jan. 1. Until then, originators navigating the early-limit programs will need to account for differences in lender requirements, and the possibility that FHFA's final number won't match any of the three figures currently in use.
2027 Early Conforming Loan Limit Tracker
Last updated Oct. 9, 2026.
FHFA has not established the official 2027 conforming loan limits. The amounts below are lender-specific early limits and may carry separate product, pricing, eligibility, closing-date, and delivery requirements.
Counting note: The tracker names 50 lender brands, divisions and operating channels representing 35 parent-lender groups. Affiliated brands are shown separately for market-availability purposes but are identified under the same parent group and are not counted as separate parent lenders.
Lender Brand or Operation | Parent / Affiliate Relationship | Announcement Date | One-Unit Baseline Limit | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Rocket Mortgage | Rocket Companies; parent retail lender. Counted with Rocket Pro as one parent-lender group. | Sept. 10, 2026 | $845,000 | Retail channel. Lower-48 limits are $1,081,950 for two units, $1,307,800 for three units, and $1,625,350 for four units. Alaska and Hawaii limits begin at $1,267,500. |
Rocket Pro | Rocket Mortgage’s broker channel; Rocket Companies parent. Not a separate parent lender. | Sept. 10, 2026 | $845,000 | Broker channel. Uses Rocket’s early-limit grid and program requirements. |
CrossCountry Mortgage | Parent lender. | Sept. 10, 2026 | $845,000 | Available through CrossCountry Mortgage’s Early Bird Program, subject to program and underwriting requirements. |
NOVA Home Loans | Parent lender. | Sept. 10, 2026 | $845,000 | Available through NOVA loan originators. Product, underwriting, and geographic requirements may vary. |
Waterstone Mortgage Corp. | Parent lender. | Sept. 10, 2026 | $845,000 | Retail channel; applies to qualifying loans funded on or after Sept. 10. |
Fairway Independent Mortgage Corp. | Parent lender. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Distributed-retail channel; effective Sept. 14 and subject to lender and program guidelines. |
LoanStream Mortgage | OCMBC Inc. division. Counted with GIANT Lending, RISE TPO and LendingPros as one parent-lender group. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Wholesale/broker availability. Lower-48 limits are $1,081,950 for two units, $1,307,800 for three units, and $1,625,350 for four units; Alaska and Hawaii limits begin at $1,267,500. Restrictions vary by division. |
GIANT Lending | OCMBC Inc. division. Not a separate parent lender. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Wholesale/broker channel for submissions dated Sept. 14 or later. Excludes government loans, temporary buydowns, and specified down-payment-assistance programs. |
RISE TPO | OCMBC Inc. division. Not a separate parent lender. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Wholesale/TPO availability under OCMBC’s early-limit rollout. Product and eligibility restrictions may vary. |
LendingPros | OCMBC Inc. division. Not a separate parent lender. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Wholesale/broker availability under OCMBC’s early-limit rollout. Product and eligibility restrictions may vary. |
Supreme Lending | Parent lender. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Available for eligible new applications taken on or after Sept. 14, subject to product and underwriting requirements. |
CMG Home Loans | CMG Mortgage Inc. dba CMG Home Loans; parent operating company for the tracked CMG group. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Effective Sept. 21, subject to CMG product, pricing, and underwriting requirements. |
NextMortgage | Affiliate under common ownership with CMG Mortgage Inc. Counted in the CMG parent-lender group. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Brand availability associated with CMG’s early-limit rollout; confirm product availability with the brand. |
Select Lending Services | Affiliate under common ownership with CMG Mortgage Inc. Counted in the CMG parent-lender group. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Brand availability associated with CMG’s early-limit rollout; confirm product availability with the brand. |
EPIQ Lending | EVO Home Loans LLC dba EPIQ Lending; affiliate under common ownership with CMG Mortgage Inc. Counted in the CMG parent-lender group. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Brand availability associated with CMG’s early-limit rollout; confirm product availability with the brand. |
Vision Lending Services | Affiliate under common ownership with CMG Mortgage Inc. Counted in the CMG parent-lender group. | Sept. 14, 2026 | $845,000 | Brand availability associated with CMG’s early-limit rollout; confirm product availability with the brand. |
American Pacific Mortgage | Parent lender for the tracked APM group. | Sept. 15, 2026 | $845,000 | Distributed-retail channel through local originators. APM disclosed a $1,267,500 high-cost limit. |
True North Home Loans | Division of American Pacific Mortgage. Not a separate parent lender. | Sept. 15, 2026 | $845,000 | Retail availability through True North originators under APM’s early-limit program. |
Preferred Rate | Partnered with American Pacific Mortgage; NMLS 1850. Counted in the APM parent-lender group. | Sept. 15, 2026 | $845,000 | Retail availability through Preferred Rate originators; published materials cite $845,000 in most areas and $1,267,500 in high-cost areas. |
Global State Mortgage | Division of American Pacific Mortgage. Not a separate parent lender. | Sept. 15, 2026 | $845,000 | Retail availability through Global State originators; published materials cite $845,000 in most areas and $1,267,500 in high-cost areas. |
EMM Loans | Parent lender. | Sept. 15, 2026 | $845,000 | Available for eligible new loans beginning Sept. 14. Public materials did not specify retail-versus-wholesale availability. |
Newrez | Parent lender. | Sept. 15, 2026 | $845,000 | Correspondent channel; all commitment types on new locks dated Sept. 15 or later. AUS rerun, appraisal, and potential repurchase requirements apply. |
Southern Trust Mortgage | Parent lender. | Approx. Sept. 15, 2026 | $845,000 | Distributed-retail channel for qualifying conventional purchase and refinance loans. Early multiunit and high-cost amounts were not disclosed. |
Guild Mortgage | Parent lender. | Sept. 16, 2026 | $845,000 | Retail channel; available beginning Sept. 17. Detailed eligibility, pricing, and delivery requirements were not publicly disclosed. |
Movement Mortgage | Parent lender. | Sept. 16, 2026 | $845,000 | Retail channel for eligible one-unit properties in the continental United States. Property, credit, DTI, LTV, and program restrictions apply. |
United Wholesale Mortgage | Parent lender. | Sept. 16, 2026 | $847,440 | Wholesale broker channel for eligible conventional and VA loans. Limits are $1,085,059 for two units, $1,311,535 for three units, and $1,630,005 for four units. |
Pennymac | Parent lender. | Sept. 16, 2026 | $850,000 | Consumer Direct Lending, TPO and correspondent channels. Lower-48 limits are $1,088,350 for two units, $1,315,500 for three units, and $1,634,950 for four units. Alaska and Hawaii limits begin at $1,275,000. Correspondent conditions may include a full appraisal, a later AUS rerun and mortgage-insurance and warehouse-provider confirmation; repurchase exposure may apply. |
Franklin Loan Center | Parent lender. | Sept. 18, 2026 | $845,000 | Retail channel for conventional financing. Multiunit limits and an effective-date cutoff were not disclosed; Franklin said high-cost limits remained to be announced. |
JVM Lending | Division of Vellum Mortgage. Counted with Vellum as one parent-lender group. | Sept. 18, 2026 | $850,000 | JVM consumer channel. A $1.27 million high-cost limit was disclosed, but a complete multiunit grid was not published. |
Vellum Mortgage | Parent/legal lender for JVM Lending. Not an additional parent-lender count. | Sept. 18, 2026 | $850,000 | Tracked through the JVM Lending rollout; availability and borrower-facing terms were promoted through JVM. |
ABS Home Mortgage | Parent lender. | Sept. 20, 2026 | $850,000 | Retail/direct channel in Illinois, Texas, Florida, and Georgia. Lower-48 limits are $1,088,350 for two units, $1,315,500 for three units, and $1,634,950 for four units. Qualifying loans may close under the early figures now; loans closing after FHFA’s announcement will use the official limits. |
BankSouth Mortgage | Wholly owned subsidiary of BankSouth. | Sept. 21, 2026 (revised) | $850,000 | Distributed-retail channel; available immediately for qualified buyers seeking conventional single-family financing. Originally announced at $845,000 on Sept. 17. |
Neighborhood Loans | Parent lender. | Sept. 21, 2026 | $847,440 | Distributed-retail channel. Limits are $1,085,059 for two units, $1,311,535 for three units, and $1,630,005 for four units. |
Direct Mortgage Loans | Parent lender. | Sept. 22, 2026 | $845,000 | Distributed-retail channel through select investors for qualifying conventional loans locked on or after Sept. 17. |
Kind Lending | Parent lender. | Sept. 22, 2026 | $845,000 | Kind TPO; effective for new locks on or after Sept. 23. Lower-48 limits are $1,081,950 for two units, $1,307,800 for three units, and $1,625,350 for four units. Alaska and Hawaii limits begin at $1,267,500. Kind lists a 620 minimum FICO and AUS Approve/Ineligible when loan amount is the only reason for ineligibility; appraisal waivers are not available. |
Intercap Lending | Parent lender. | Sept. 23, 2026 | $850,000 | Distributed-retail channel through Intercap’s Advanced Access Program. Availability varies by investor. Multiunit and high-cost figures were not publicly disclosed; broker and correspondent availability were not established. |
Rate | Guaranteed Rate Inc. dba Rate; parent company for the tracked Rate-affiliated group. | Sept. 10, 2026 | $845,000 | Rate confirmed an early one-unit limit of $845,000. Product, channel, and delivery requirements should be confirmed with Rate. |
Certainty Home Lending | Rate-affiliated company; Certainty Home Loans LLC. Counted in the Rate parent-lender group. | Sept. 24, 2026 | $845,000 | Retail channel; accepting conforming loan amounts up to $845,000 ahead of FHFA’s official 2027 adjustment. Detailed eligibility and timing requirements were not publicly disclosed. |
Gershman Mortgage | Parent lender. | Sept. 25, 2026 | $850,000 | Retail channel; available immediately. Multiunit and high-cost figures were not disclosed. Gershman operates a TPO channel, but availability of the early limit through that channel was not confirmed. |
TowneBank Mortgage | TowneBank mortgage operation; parent group for FitzGerald Financial Group. | Sept. 26, 2026 | $850,000 | Retail channel through select participating investors for qualified borrowers and eligible properties. Lower-48 limits are $1,088,350 for two units, $1,315,500 for three units, and $1,634,950 for four units. |
FitzGerald Financial Group | Division of TowneBank Mortgage. Not a separate parent lender. | Sept. 26, 2026 | $850,000 | Retail availability under the TowneBank Mortgage early-limit rollout, subject to participating-investor, borrower, and property requirements. |
Legacy Mutual Mortgage | Gardner Financial Services dba Legacy Mutual Mortgage; Prosperity Bank subsidiary. Counted as one parent-lender group. | Sept. 29, 2026 | $845,000 | Distributed-retail channel in more than 40 states. Applies to eligible conventional loans closing on or after Oct. 5. Multiunit and high-cost figures were not disclosed. |
Gardner Financial Services | Legal operating company for Legacy Mutual Mortgage and a subsidiary of Prosperity Bank. Not a separate parent-lender count. | Sept. 29, 2026 | $845,000 | Tracked through the Legacy Mutual Mortgage rollout; the program applies to eligible conventional loans closing on or after Oct. 5. |
Homeowners Financial Group USA | Parent lender. | Oct. 1, 2026 | $850,000 | Distributed-retail channel in approximately 38 states. Limits are $1,088,350 for two units, $1,315,500 for three units, and $1,634,950 for four units, subject to product, location, and investor guidelines. |
V.I.P. Mortgage | Parent lender. | Oct. 1, 2026 | $845,000 | Distributed-retail channel in more than 47 states for qualifying purchase and refinance loans. The lender said its early high-cost limit exceeds $1 million but did not publish an exact grid. |
Mortgage Equity Partners | Parent lender. | Oct. 2, 2026 | $845,000 | Distributed-retail channel in more than 24 states. Multiunit and high-cost figures were not disclosed, and no separate application, lock, or closing cutoff was published. |
Bell Bank Mortgage | Mortgage division of Bell Bank. | Oct. 3, 2026 | $845,000 | Retail channel in Minnesota, North Dakota, Wisconsin, Kansas, Missouri, Tennessee, Florida, New Mexico and Arizona. Limited to one-unit primary residences for purchase, rate-and-term refinance, and cash-out refinance. Loans must lock by Dec. 31; locks longer than 75 days are ineligible. Excludes multi-unit properties, Home Possible, HomeReady, rehabilitation, construction, one-time-close, Rate Guard, temporary buydowns, government loans, and ARMs. |
Union Home Mortgage | Parent lender. | Oct. 6, 2026 | $845,000 | Distributed-retail channel; effective immediately. Wholesale and correspondent availability was not confirmed. Multiunit and high-cost figures were not disclosed. |
GMFS LLC | Parent lender; wholesale channel marketed as GMFS Partners. | Oct. 7, 2026 | $845,000 | Wholesale/broker channel through GMFS Partners. Separate Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac new-limit programs are available in Optimal Blue, and eligible loans may close immediately. Requirements include a credit report dated after Oct. 1, no manual underwriting, and a full appraisal when AUS ineligibility is caused solely by the loan amount; additional borrower and property restrictions apply. |
AD Mortgage | Parent lender. | Oct. 7, 2026 | $845,000 | Wholesale/broker channel for new submissions on or after Oct. 7. Lower-48 limits are $1,081,950 for two units, $1,307,800 for three units, and $1,625,350 for four units. Alaska and U.S. Virgin Islands limits are $1,267,500, $1,622,925, $1,961,700, and $2,438,025 for one through four units. Brokers should confirm availability in AIM. |
Current FHFA baseline: $832,750
- Named lender brands, divisions and operating channels: 50
- Parent-lender groups represented: 35
- Parent groups verified at $845,000: 25
- Parent groups verified at $847,440: 2
- Parent groups verified at $850,000: 8
- Increase at $845,000: $12,250, or approximately 1.5%
- Increase at $847,440: $14,690, or approximately 1.8%
- Increase at $850,000: $17,250, or approximately 2.1%
Affiliated brands, divisions, and channels are shown separately to document market availability, but they are consolidated under their parent-lender group for the parent count. Mortgage brokers advertising access to another lender’s early limits are not counted as lenders.